Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

State Representative Curtis Halford Announces Two Local Parks & Recreation Grants For Gibson & Carroll Counties

(NASHVILLE) — State Representative Curtis Halford (R-Dyer) today announced two Local Parks and Recreation Fund (LPRF) grants have been awarded to Carroll and Gibson Counties by the Tennessee Department of Environment & Conservation (TDEC).

Specifically, Carroll County will receive $250,000 in grant funding for continued development of the recently built RV/Park and Dam side of the Carroll County Recreational Lake. The project includes a new walking trail, pavilion, parking, additional amenities, as well as enhanced accessibility. The Carroll County Watershed Authority will match the grant funding to complete the $500,000 project.

Additionally, Gibson County will receive $498,375 dollars for numerous improvements at Bailey, Downtown, Spangler, 6th Street, and Viking Parks in Humboldt. This funding will cover the costs of resurfacing, renovation, and repair work at all five parks, as well as new playground equipment for Bailey Park and a new pavilion at Downtown Park. The City of Humboldt will match the grant to complete the estimated $997,000 projects.

“I appreciate TDEC’s investment in our communities, and I know this important funding will have a tremendous impact on the well-being of our citizens,” said Representative Halford. “I am grateful to our Department of Environment and Conservation for supporting our region, and I congratulate our local officials for their successful efforts securing this funding.”

The LPRF grant program was established by the General Assembly in 1991 to provide local governments with funds to purchase land for parks, natural areas, greenways and recreational facilities. The funds also may be used for development of trails and projects in parks, natural areas, and greenways. All LPRF grants require a 50 percent match by the recipient.

For more information, please click here.

Curtis Halford serves as Chairman of the House Agriculture & Natural Resources Committee. He lives in Dyer and represents House District 79, which includes all of Gibson and the majority of Carroll Counties. He can be reached by email at [email protected] or by calling (615) 741-7478.

Join Our Newsletter

Subscribe our newsletter to receive the latest news

The Tennessee House Republican Caucus is dedicated to preserving Tennessee values and leading the nation with conservative policy.

Stay Tuned for Updates