Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Warning: Undefined array key "options" in /var/www/wp-content/plugins/trx_addons/components/api/elementor/elementor.php on line 1687

State Representatives Clark Boyd & Terri Lynn Weaver, Department of Education Announce Critical Growth Funds

(NASHVILLE) — State Representative Clark Boyd (R-Lebanon), State Representative Terri Lynn Weaver (R-Lancaster), and the Tennessee Department of Education today announced that DeKalb County Schools have received district growth funding to support education initiatives in the county.

Specifically, DeKalb County Schools received $120,500.

This funding is a direct result of a Republican-led effort by Tennessee General Assembly members to not only fully fund education in Tennessee but also provide $18 million to cover school district growth as part of Governor Bill Haslam’s Fiscal Year 2018 budget.

These significant investments will allow many of our state’s school districts with soaring populations to maintain proper student to teacher ratios so that they can continue offering quality education for our next generation of leaders.

“Providing a quality education for this next generation of Tennesseans is a top priority for me,” said Representative Boyd. “I am honored and proud to work with my Republican colleagues as we continue that fight today and every day.”

“As our community grows, so should our schools,” said Representative Weaver. “I’m delighted to be a part of such a critical effort to provide the resources that our educators need to invest in our students.”

The inclusion of growth funding as part of the budget has been so well received by parents, education officials, and teachers that the governor has added an additional $18 million in growth funding as part of his proposed Fiscal Year 2019 budget.

Clark Boyd serves as a member of the House Insurance & Banking Committee. He is also a member of the House Consumer & Human Resources Committee and Subcommittee. Boyd lives in Lebanon and represents House District 46, which includes Cannon, and part of Wilson and Dekalb Counties. He can be reached by email at: [email protected] or by calling (615) 741-7086.

Terri Lynn Weaver serves as Chairwoman of the House Transportation Subcommittee. She is also a member of the House Transportation Committee, as well as the House Education Administration & Planning Committee. Weaver lives in Lancaster and represents House District 40, which includes Smith, Trousdale, and part of DeKalb and Sumner Counties. She can be reached by email at: [email protected] or by calling (615) 741-2192.

Join Our Newsletter

Subscribe our newsletter to receive the latest news

The Tennessee House Republican Caucus is dedicated to preserving Tennessee values and leading the nation with conservative policy.

Stay Tuned for Updates